American Food

Recently DomesticallyBlissed mentioned in her comment on one of my posts that “its funny how I imagine these funny American foods to taste.”

I realized that today was an all-American food day, at least part of each meal, so…for the edification of my international readers:

Breakfast: Fried eggs and toast with scrapple. Scrapple is an American breakfast food from the mid-Atlantic region. My father-in-law introduced me to it (though he’s a New Englander), and we all love it. It sounds kind of terrible, as most sausages, liverwursts, and other things made with scraps do, but it’s quite tasty. The only thing a bit odd is the texture: it’s essentially a fried cornmeal-with-minced-pork mush, so the outside gets crispy when fried, but the inside is still mush.

Lunch: Arugula salads and hot dogs, with ice cream for dessert. What could be the more quintessential American food than the hot dog? (Not the arugula salad, of course, but we were feeling the need for some veggies by that point!) Anthropapa likes his with mayonnaise, while I like ketchup. Can you have American food without one of those condiments? Possibly not. And while residents of other countries eat their fair share of ice cream, they probably didn’t have New York Jets Sundae Blitz!

Dinner: I can’t believe I made a tuna casserole. (Please note this delightful sentence from the link: “Tuna casserole is remarkable in that it can be prepared using no fresh ingredients whatsoever.” Lovely.) I used the Betty Crocker recipe, substituting whole wheat pasta and added frozen vegetables and curry powder, and without pimentos. Tuna casserole is a very common, old-fashioned American recipe, one of many known as a “hotdish” in the Midwest. Sometimes people put bread crumbs, or crushed potato chips, or even Chex® on top, for God’s sake. I just put Parmesan cheese. (A very close relative of this recipe is the ubiquitous green bean casserole, made from green beans, cream of mushroom soup, and canned fried onions on top. It’s like Americans like to take a nutritious green vegetable and render it nutrition-free through thorough soaking in questionable sauce. I guess that’s what you get when the Campbell’s Soup Company creates recipes.)

Apologies to my vegetarian and raw-foods-eating readers. It was a processed meat kind of day here.

* * * * *

Photo by CptCapacitor.

12 Comments

Filed under Family, Food, Silliness and Mayhem

12 responses to “American Food

  1. WOW. I’m in awe. I haven’t had tuna casserole since I was a kid :)

  2. I was laughing as I read this. I think you’re right…most American food is accompanied by ketchup! I don’t normally eat typical American fare, but I find myself drawn to these foods during times of high stress- probably because it’s what I grew up on.

  3. I’m not only in awe, but am shaking my head in disbelief that one can buy fried onions in cans?!

    Good grief!
    :)

  4. Sarah: And tonight we had the leftover casserole with . . . wait for it . . . TATER TOTS on top! I am losing all my organic-food-eating, ecologically aware, Waldorf mama cred here. But it was good, hot, and easy. (Did I just say that? Will it draw unsavory Google searches? Oh dear.)

    Dawn: I try so hard to limit our ketchup intake…it is so full of salt and sugar, and my son would eat it with a spoon if I let him. These are definitely comfort foods. And I swear, our normal diet is not this bad.

    Suse: Yes, Americans have canned fried onions. Pretty much just for green bean casserole, I believe! And the funny thing is, we have amazing agricultural potential in this country, and yet we seem to fully enjoy and survive on processed foods. Can you say “subsidized corn and petroleum products”?

  5. Oh Dear, hot dogs and Arugula. I think that is the first time in history those two things have been mentioned in the same breath! I have to admit I can’t eat any of these foods, I have turned into what some have coined as a “food Snob”, but there is one traditional American dish that I have to have at Thanksgiving and that is corn casserole, descendant of the corn souffle.

  6. I love this: “Tuna casserole is remarkable in that it can be prepared using no fresh ingredients whatsoever.”

    Ha!

    I love food… and I’m very, very picky about it. Good for you for trying, and being such a good sport.

  7. I’ll see your scrapple and raise you tripe and black pudding (Nightmares of my childhood, #47)

  8. Lisa Anne: I seem to be on a horrible-food run these days. Tonight we had Portuguese barbecue and Dairy Queen. I swear, we’re eating salads for the next 42 days!

    SusieJ: One thing my family is not, is picky. I’m glad about that in terms of picky little kids, but maybe we could be a little more selective in our unhealthy choices these days.

    URD: Tripe, I can handle. It’s just squeaky. After all, I’ve eaten chicken feet and lived to tell the tale. I think I could manage some black pudding, as I’ll try anything once, but I wouldn’t bank on it. Now white pudding sounds a lot like scrapple, so that I could do.

  9. All that talk of casseroles brings to mind meals Tom Waits describes eating at Norms and the Copper Penny.

  10. hope you don’t mind. I’m just testing out a new google address….

  11. libyan man

    I did not eat American food before
    However, I will try to try it very soon
    It seems with the exception of tasty pork I hate this kind of meat – and science I am not a vegetarian, but I just hate the pork
    And I be visiting the United States and possibly live there

  12. breakfast foods should always be high in protein and also in carbohydrates, we need food energy during the early morning ,~~

Leave a Reply

