More Reasons to Love BookMooch

BookMooch IllustrationImage via Wikipedia

WARNING: This post is liberally peppered with links. Sorry if it’s annoying, but I’m really excited by this topic and just want to share the coolness.

I just came across this article on the Guardian’s website about book-swapping websites. As one of the largest such sites, BookMooch was featured prominently.

I’ve been a BookMooch member since…oh, heck, I have to go check my member page…la la bum tee bum…here we go, January 2007. I’ve mooched 40 books and given 37 (bad Mama: you’re really supposed to always give away more than you get, but thanks to a points donation by Helen, I’m still in the black!)

Aside from clearing out books I don’t want anymore and finding books I either can’t find elsewhere or that I’m willing to read but not buy, I also love the open-source, Free Culture, Creative Commonsy aspect. The Guardian article touches on some of BM founder John Buckman‘s thoughts about how book swapping doesn’t really take any profits away from authors and publishers

And recently a few new interesting things have popped up in the Moochosphere: swapping shipping materials, which is a brilliant use of the BM network to reuse and share exactly what BM members need, and actual cooperation between a free book-swapping service and publishers. Added to the existing cool stuff like the ability to donate your BM points to charities, the ability to download every bit of information in the BM database (except user email and snail mail addresses) for free, and the constant tinkering with what it means to collaborate between reader/swappers, authors, and publishers, these innovations make me love BM even more.

Now I just need to find some more books to give away….

* * * * *

Interested? Read more about BookMooch here or here.

6 Comments

Filed under Books, computers

6 responses to “More Reasons to Love BookMooch

  1. I really have to take a look at BookMooch. I have quite a few piles of books I would happily give away, and there are always more I’d like to read.

  2. renaissancemama

    That’s such a great service. I love giving away books, and I’ve been spending way to much on Amazon this month- this would be perfect! Thanks for sharing this.

  3. Charl: Please tell me if you do, I’d love to see your inventory!

    RenMama: You too…it’s been my dream to have more people interested in Waldorf on BookMooch. I like to see who has the same books in their wishlists as mine, and it’s not very many people usually! (I suspect that sentence was very much not grammatically correct. It’s late.)

  4. Thanks for sharing this, I think I would loose myself if I started getting involved int this. I only give myself 45 min-an hour each day on the computer, I think the farm would suffer because I am such a book fiend!

  5. domesticallyblissed

    Wow what a cool thing! I will have to have more of a look into it. I love the free trading of books like that, what an awesome idea.

  6. You know how that book I put up for Bookmooch “disappeared” and I blamed it on an error with their database? Last week I found said book behind the bookcase… I am so embarrassed…

Leave a Reply

