Thirty-Seven Things

Curse you, netizens, for your infernal, distracting, navel-gazing memes! I got this one from Helen. (No curses for you, sweetie!)

  1. Never in my life: have I left the US.
  2. When I was five: I cut my own hair because I wanted Farrah Fawcett wings just like my cousin.
  3. High School was: a blur.
  4. I will never forget: the time I dislocated my shoulder. And the time I dislocated my knee. And then the other knee.
  5. I once met: Eric Utne.
  6. There’s this girl I know who: loves to dress up as a fairy and do a little dance.
  7. Once, at a bar: I dressed up as a fine Victorian lady, and my date wore horns.
  8. By noon, I’m usually: deep in a manuscript and nibbling on a piece of fruit crudite chocolate.
  9. Last night: I woke up to thunder and rain.
  10. If I only had: finished my honors thesis.
  11. Next time I go to church: I hope to feel uplifted.
  12. What worries me most: is my children suffering something painful.
  13. When I turn my head left, I see: a 6-inch brass cricket, a tiny plastic fox, stacks of papers and books, and pictures of my kids.
  14. When I turn my head right, I see: my dear husband.
  15. You know I’m lying when: I don’t lie.
  16. What I miss most about the eighties: is hearing Duran Duran without it being a marketing ploy targeting my generation.
  17. If I were a character in Shakespeare, I’d be: Beatrice.
  18. A better name for me would be: She-Who-Blogs-Too-Much (Alternatively, She-Who’s-Behind-on-the-Laundry.)
  19. I have a hard time understanding: why people kill other people. And wear high heels. Not necessarily together.
  20. If I ever go back to school, I’ll: get a master’s degree, probably in art history.
  21. You know I like you if: I give you my home address.
  22. If I ever won an award, the first person I’d thank would be: my husband, for always supporting me.
  23. Take my advice, never: substitute for butter.
  24. My ideal breakfast is: bagels, cream cheese, and lotsa lox, with good coffee. And quiet.
  25. A song I love, but do not have is: “Kiss” by Prince.
  26. If you visit my hometown, I suggest: heading south to the beach.
  27. Why won’t people: get over themselves and think about others for once.
  28. If you spend the night at my house: you will receive numerous crayon drawings and leave covered in cat hair.
  29. I’d stop my wedding for: Mr. Darcy.
  30. The world could do without: television.
  31. I’d rather lick the belly of a cockroach than: eat uni.
  32. My favorite blonde is: Napoleona.
  33. Paper clips are more useful than: twist ties.
  34. If I do anything well, it’s: finding yer spelling mistakes.
  35. And by the way: if I were a cat, I’d be this one:

cat

more cat pictures

12 Comments

Filed under Memes, Silliness and Mayhem

12 responses to “Thirty-Seven Things

  1. Doktor Holocaust

    stealing this

  2. Alida

    Ooh, I used to subscribe to Utne…what’s he like?

  3. That was so fun to read. I know I’ve misspelled words in your comments before and was unable to fix them after pushing send. Knowing you’re an editor…that’s so embarrassing! ;) We must be about the same age because I remember wanting Farrah Fawcett wings around the age of five also.

  4. I love the cat picture. I am resisting the meme, probably unsuccessfully.

  5. Alida: Eric Utne is nice, laid back…we didn’t speak for very long. He is on the board of the college where my husband works.

    Dawn: Please do not think I edit blog comments, even in my head! I pretty much let that side of me go when reading blogs. That’s one nice thing about Blogger: the comment preview option.

    HMH: That’s pretty much exactly what I’d look like if I were transformed into a cat at this moment: nearsighted and squinting (because my glasses would fall right off those kitty ears!), surrounded by books, and a wee bit zaftig :)

  6. That was great! Do you mind if I steal it for my blog? Happy packing…with wine…or stronger.

  7. I am relieved that I survived 3.5 years in Japan without having to eat uni (although I did once have an unpleasant “surprise” with natto!) Heh heh, I always have these sober intentions of sitting down to write with a plate of chopped apple or carrot, then think, ooh maybe I’ll just have a bit of this doughnut first…! One day I’ll get healthy. Definitely.

    I hope your packing’s going well.

  8. Eve

    I don’t know what uni is and I don’t want to know. I’m remaining intentionally ignorant after reading Helen’s comment.

    Your list is such fun to read!

    And I want to let you know that I found a mistake of yours on another blog today; you used an word inappropriate to your intention.

    And I’m intentionally leaving you ignorant at the moment because I feel ornery today. ;o)

  9. This is very fun, it is always so tempting to play along with these memes.

    I am an organic farmer with secret chocolate stashes all about (organic, fair trade, of course!!), it is the only way I can survive.
    Oh, and…WE would have to have a little fight over Mr. Darcy, he is SOO mine.
    And me, I think I would eat just about anything rather than lick the belly of a cockroach.
    I was more into the Dorothy Hamil look than the Farah Fawcett when I was five and totally in love with Shaun Cassidy (the Doo Run Run, the doo run run).

  10. Helen: I will try anything once. I was with someone at a sushi bar and he ordered uni. I should have suspected, since he also dosed everything with literally tablespoons of wasabi!

    Eve: As I mentioned to Dawn, I try to turn off my editor brain when blogging…but you did catch me in a careless moment with my own words!

    Lisa Anne: Well, we’d be in a three-way fight with Charlotte Otter then! I am so dating myself, but I did have a Shaun Cassidy poster over my bed at one point (though I secretly preferred Parker Stevenson :-) )

  11. Nana

    message for Eve: please read the third paragraph of your comment :)

    unlike my daughter, I unintentionally edit (in my old, tired brain) every thing I read and have tried unsuccessfully to bypass that hard wiring >: arrrrgh!

    it is most annoying to find errors in newspapers and books

  12. Pingback: I meme it – Bradstein Household

Leave a Reply

