Out of the Mouths of Babes, VII

Tonight at dinner I said something about bread, and SillyBilly made a joke about cows being bred (can’t remember what exactly — must keep my Moleskine notebook at hand!). I told him that was a synonym, and explained that means two different words that mean the same, or almost the same, thing.

We have talked about antonyms before: hot/cold, dry/wet, in/out. And homonyms: sale/sail, meet/meat, pale/pail. But synonyms were new.

Then Napoleona pipes up: “Like plate/dish!”

Napoleona is 3 years old, and she can spontaneously think of a synonym.

Then SillyBilly said, “Mama, I want to do copy editing just like you do!”

We are in serious trouble.

3 Comments

Filed under Kid Talk, Parenting

3 responses to “Out of the Mouths of Babes, VII

  1. Papa Bradstein

    Yeah, when they’re teenagers and start parsing your sentences, have fun. And let us know how you handle that because we might well have the same problem–er, I mean “fun”–here.

  2. Henitsirk

    Is there an editing gene? Given the number of basic spelling and grammar errors I see every day, it must be recessive.

  3. Mitch McDad

    Perfect. Can you have them proof my dyslexic mess. My wife calls me the human typo.

Leave a Reply

