Have I mentioned that the Internet is evil?

Well, not really evil, unless you’re trying to get other things done.

Whatever you do, do NOT use StumbleUpon.

It sounds so fun: you tell them which topics are interesting to you, and they feed you random sites in that topic.

It is fun — I’ve come across some amazing things recently.

However, I’ve also been all too weak about stopping all the stumbling when I should be doing something else.

Hmmm…Scribbler recently mentioned to me that doing NaBloPoMo is like an anthroposophical will exercise (do something at the same time every day without any external motivation, to build up your will forces). Perhaps I spent all my currently available will forces in November, and will now spend December drooling and slack-jawed in front of my computer.

Let’s hope not.

6 Comments

Filed under Blogging

6 responses to “Have I mentioned that the Internet is evil?

  1. Ooh, please don’t tell me stuff like this! I’m only just recovering from how cool Facebook is.

    I love your St Michael graphic. I could do a whole post about him.

  2. anthropapa

    I’ll second the “I hope not”…although I must admit that StumbleUpon has killed off a few of my idle hours lately.

  3. Ah, St Michael! He has special place in my heart.
    Now as far as internet time-sinks go, http://www.allmusic.com also has a capacity for just siphoning time away at a frightening rate.

    And welcome to WordPress!

  4. Hmmm…looks like I’ll have to do a post of St. Michael images. Maybe if Helen does her Mary cards???

  5. I have never been to Facebook. La la la la la la la I don’t want to know about whatever that site is you mentioned. I already spend way too much time on the computer. Thank heavens I type fast, that’s all I have to say.

Leave a Reply

