Peace on Earth, Goodwill toward Men?

Aside from the horrible tiger attack at the San Francisco Zoo, my news reader included these two lovely items today:

Benazir Bhutto, the Muslim world’s first female leader and a voice for democracy in Pakistan, was assassinated today. Maybe she didn’t have a spotless record, but she had been working for peace in the region for many years. Maybe Musharraf really does want his country to become democratic but at a slow pace, and maybe not. Maybe he does want to stand up to Muslim extremists, and maybe not. Bhutto’s death certainly does undermine the forces of stability.

Greek Orthodox and Armenian Apostolic priests attacked each other inside the Church of the Nativity in Bethlehem. Holy men hitting each other with brooms and stones at the place of Jesus’ birth.

Some days I just want to turn off my news feed and crawl under the covers with some chocolate and a romance novel.

(OK, these last two posts have been pretty pessimistic. Ho, ho, ho, Merry Christmas. I really did have a wonderful holiday…it’s just bad timing, I promise. Next post will be something nice, I swear.)
3 Comments

Filed under life

3 responses to “Peace on Earth, Goodwill toward Men?

  1. An elephant killed its handler on the north coast of New South Wales yesterday.

    Is there room under the covers for me, too? The news about Benazir Bhutto has saddened me more than I thought possible…

  2. I had a friend from college that went on to graduate from an exotic animal training and management program, and she gave us a tour of their facility one time. Safety and proper handling of animals (to the point that she told us very specifically not to look certain animals in the eyes lest we intimidate them) was paramount. Wild animals are still wild, even when we “train” them or cage them.

    As for Bhutto’s killing…maybe some of us humans are still a little bit wild as well. I can’t imagine having a state of mind where I could kill someone in that way. It’s sad to think that people can be so inhuman in the name of what they call religion.

  3. Eve

    “Wild animals are still wild,” Heni writes. And then I think about priests attacking one another at the place of Christ’s birth.

    I have a flashlight and some Oreos. Can I come in?

Leave a Reply

