Intersection

I’m editing a book on gender justice and civil society. Overall it’s quite interesting, in a scholarly way. But it’s not often that this work and my, shall we say, less intellectual thoughts come together.

I just read this quote from Pope Pius XI’s encyclical Casti Connubii, who is himself quoting Ephesians 5:22-23:

“Let women be subject to the husbands as to the Lord, because the man is the head of the woman as Christ is head of the Church.”

Of course this instantly reminded me of one of my favorite silly films:

“Let me tell you something, Toula. The man is the head, but the woman is the neck. And she can turn the head any way she wants.”

I do love my work.

4 Comments

Filed under editing, Silliness and Mayhem

4 responses to “Intersection

  1. Ah, St Paul. How different history might have been without him.

  2. URD: One of these days I’m going to have to read up on him. I only have a very vague “Tentmaker/Damascus/Gospel writer/Women basher” concept of him. I’m sure there’s good to be gleaned there too. I should probably read up on Augustine, as The Third Eve has done, since he’s just a similarly dim memory from my undergraduate days.

  3. Hopewaits

    Paul was speaking of a “covering” or protection of a man’s wife. Perhaps you should read ICo.2:14-16………..

  4. Hopewaits: In the translation I referred to, there is nothing explicit in that passage about protecting or “covering,” only that a woman should “submit” and “respect” her husband, and a man should “love” his wife. Perhaps one could interpret a man’s dominion over his wife as a form of protection, but again, that’s not in the words themselves.

    As I said in my previous comment, there is a whole world of analysis and opinion on Paul that I don’t have the background or knowledge to comment on here. I just thought the juxtaposition of the two quotes was funny in the way they came together in my mind.

    And for the passage from 1 Corinthians…perhaps you are implying that I am unspiritual? This post was not meant to be reverential, it was meant to be gently humorous. And it certainly was not meant to display either my understanding of the Bible or lack thereof. As I said in the first sentence, these are my “less intellectual thoughts”!

Leave a Reply

