A Way with Words

I’ve always been a very verbal person. My mom says once I learned to talk, I never shut up. I learned to read when I was four, and never stopped reading either.

I’ve always been proud of my 720 SAT verbal score* (back when there was just one verbal section). However, I sense that I have some familial competition.

Recently Napoleona has been showing off her extensive vocabulary. Please remember, she’s 3 1/2:

“Mama, I found a nut [at daycare] and I nibbled on it for a while, but it wasn’t edible.”

“Mama, look at this [her piece of satsuma]: I thought it would come apart some more because it has another crease here.”

We’re in deep trouble. And we’re already contemplating the need to learn Aramaic so that we can talk in front of the kids and not have them understand our “codes.” (We no longer get away with calling Home Depot “the big orange place” or the library “the reading material repository.” The kids got those a long time ago.)

* Part of me does still rankle at those 80 missed points.

9 Comments

Filed under Family, Kid Talk, Parenting, Silliness and Mayhem

9 responses to “A Way with Words

  1. Well that explains why you’re so good at Scrabble! You wordy one, you. I love Miss N’s sentences – she sounds adorable and quaint.

  2. LOL – I bemoan the fact that my European husband doesn’t know Pig Latin which would be a great alternative. I guess the Frenchman doesn’t either!

  3. We’re in hell because dh is fluent in Spanish, I am fluent in French, and Biggie is fluent in Spelling!!! Yiddish?? (oy, no, you’re in NY!)

  4. Charlotte: Well, I’m OK at Scrabble, but not as good as Kerryn! My little girl does come up with some quaint things to say sometimes.

    NQCP: I think we tried Pig Latin once, and they still figured it out!

    Goodwitch: I could probably muddle along in Spanglish or Frenchlish, but Anthropapa couldn’t. Spelling will work for a while, but not too long! We could learn Yiddish, but then all the people in the local library would understand us : )

  5. I love tracking them learning vocabularies! ‘Crease’ at 31/2 is very impressive. Scrabble is something which has nearly broke our ‘marriage’ up in the early years. Let’s just say that we can both get a little competitive at it…

  6. I’ll be overjoyed if Kiko is so eloquent in just over a year’s time! I’m not holding my breath, though. He’s certainly verbal, but we can’t understand what he’s saying half the time.

    Heh heh, I agree about the spelling. We spell words but he’s latched on to some already, especially b-a-n-a-n-a, which sounds too much like saying the word!

  7. Nana

    Ah yes, I see the language gene has been passed along from my father, to me, to you, to my brilliant grandchildren!

    As I recall, our SillyBilly was using words of 3 syllables when he was 3. This amazed me because my brief experience assisting a Speech and Language Therapist taught me that boys are much less verbal than girls at that age.

    For those out there who are concerned about not understanding what your little boys are saying, take heart! As long as they are talking, the time to worry about enunciation is approximately age 4. It takes awhile for the little ones to develop the musculature required to speak clearly.

  8. Nana: yes, there’s no escape from genetics!

    I edited your comment to take out our “real” names. It’s just a little privacy thing I do that probably isn’t really necessary, but it makes me feel better.

  9. I liked reading your euphemisms for library and Home Depot. We do that, too, instead of spelling words out. I think little things like that also help with big things like vocabulary.

Leave a Reply

