Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy

I’d just like to share my current mood with you all:   WOOT!

I just successfully negotiated a project rate with a college professor to edit her manuscript. It’s the highest rate I have ever been paid.

She had been given my name by her publisher, whom I had contacted long ago but had not heard from since.

She said she picked me because she liked the business name I use.*

I have the next three weeks solidly booked with work.

Now, back to said work. Thank you for listening to me gloat.

* Sorry, I’m not revealing it here. I’m keeping that part of my life strictly separate from this one. I like to feel free to write about whatever I want here without worrying about clients Googling it and being offended or weirded out over my personal life.

5 Comments

Filed under editing, freelancing

5 responses to “Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy

  1. Yay! Thrilled for you! Hope the book is interesting.

  2. Karen

    Woohoo! Congratulations, Kristine! I’m so glad for you, and when things move like they are for you – you KNOW you’re meeting your destiny!

    And, I love your writing on this blog…

    Cheers! And enjoy the work – and the balance!

    kjg

  3. Fabulous! gloating entirely justified.

  4. That is AWESOME! And, it’s just great that it come from somewhere unexpected. You should be gloating!

    Power just got back, — 18 hours off. 50 degrees inside

  5. Charlotte: At first I was a bit worried, as the professor’s department was something to do with corporate communication–not interesting at all to me. But her manuscript is about political films!

    Karen: So nice to hear from you! I do feel like I’ve found a very, very comfortable and fulfilling niche.

    URD: Thanks. I’m usually very gloat-averse.

    SusieJ: I haven’t had anything so pleasantly unexpected in a long time. I’m glad your power is back, in time for another chilly night.

Leave a comment