It’s coming…

Spring is coming, spring is coming,
Birds are building their nests.
Weave together straw and feather,
Doing each their best.
Spring is coming, spring is coming,
Flowers are waking too!
Pansies, lilies, daffodillies,
Now are coming through.
Spring is coming, spring is coming,
All around is fair.
Shimmer, quiver, on the river,
Joy is everywhere!
(Oxfordshire May Song)
Outside, the only thing that’s sprouting are a few snowdrops, but there are buds fattening everywhere, and the birds are definitely singing louder. I couldn’t wait to change the nature table, especially after I realized we could force some forsythia to bloom. We couldn’t sing Christmas songs any more, and without snow our winter songs didn’t seem right either. So we started on spring a little early this year.
11 Comments

Filed under Crafting, Nature

11 responses to “It’s coming…

  1. We sing this song as well, but I doubt we’ll be even thinking about spring for weeks….

  2. I can’t wait… it seems a long way off. Like standing in the middle of the North Pole and no green in sight!

  3. Bex

    I can feel it too!
    We’re gunna shake things up a bit ’round here & whip our nature nook into shape aswell.
    Lovely ‘Mei’ song…;) Xxx

  4. It’s just entirely too warm here. It’s annoying. It’s supposed to be winter…

    Ah, well. I guess the grass is always greener. Literally. My grass is sickeningly green… It won’t stop even though I stopped watering it. It sucks.

  5. Totally off-subject (of this post, at least). I was at my godson’s 4th birthday today and there was a little boy there with Hearing Aids in both ears. They were in cool colors but otherwise really inconspicuous (I guess that means that if he had chosen clear instead of electric blue, they would’ve been hardly noticeable). In a room full of 4-6 year old boys, there was no mention, no teasing, nothing. Don’t be so worried, all will work out well.

  6. Sarah: We are really pushing the limit here too! We did visit some new lambs, and there are some snowdrop sprouts, but we just couldn’t wait.

    SusieJ: Maybe if we sing that song a few thousand more times it will come sooner!

    Bex: Our nature corner seems to go in fits and starts…sometimes nature just seems in a holding pattern.

    LA Daddy: That’s something I don’t miss about LA, the lack of seasons. But it would be nice not to have to buy all these snow clothes every year, be able to garden more, etc.

    Goodwitch: I’m always interested to hear those kinds of observations. I think at 4-6 there isn’t as much awareness of things like that. I can’t wait to see what odd colors of ear mold we’ll get–some even have sparkles and swirls!

  7. Bex

    Something for you at mine…Xxx

  8. We have a spring inspired nature table right now also. Yours is so pretty, thanks for sharing. I’m waiting for the frosty mornings to go away so I can start planting!

  9. Bex: Thank you dear!

    Dawn: Welcome! We are waiting too…today my son and I were admiring the snowdrops just on the edge of blooming, and the beautiful bubbles in a sheet of ice that had formed in our little red wagon.

  10. This is such a beautiful nature table. Just beautiful.

  11. Chris Rusch IS STILL A TAX ATTORNEY. Look him up under the CA BAR website.

Leave a Reply

