Question for my Waldorfy Readers

And of course anyone who might have an opinion…

I’m mulling over the idea of writing something to sell as an e-book. Among the ideas I’ve had is something to do with native plants and/or animals. (I would have to stick with North America since that’s what I know, but I would love to expand it to other regions!) I’ve thought about doing a craft book about native plant flower fairies, for example, or something for homeschooling curriculum (seems like this would fit in well with 5th grade).

What do you think would be interesting/useful/successful?

Homeschoolers: is there any subject or format that isn’t already out there or could be improved? I know there are tons of curriculum guides, most quite good. I don’t want to reinvent the wheel, so I’m thinking of something more topic-specific, like botany or crafting. On the other hand, so much of homeschooling seems to be about the family creating their own activities and curriculum, so how useful would something like this be?

Any advice on publishing and marketing e-books?

13 Comments

Filed under Books, Crafting, freelancing, Nature, waldorf education, Writing

13 responses to “Question for my Waldorfy Readers

  1. Well, I really feel like there is a lack of support for Waldorf homeschoolers after 5th/6th grade, I don’t know if people give up on Waldorf homeschooling at this age and give into the pressure of computerized curriculum. This is not an option for me, although I feel often tempted (farming full-time/emerging adolescent). I find I have to go through many, many books to glean what I can for everything my daughter needs, thank goodness for the Steiner Library.
    Some people who homeschool Waldorf forget about the emerging intellect of these middle-schoolers and still want to focus on the “fairyland” quality of the early childhood and I do not know if this is necessarily healthy. We have done all that, I want to meet Amelia where she is now, not where she was when she was seven.
    I worked in a Waldorf Kindergarten for several years, and I still bring a lot of that rhythm and beauty into our life, but what does my 12yo need?

    I don’t think I answered any of your questions, but this is the area that I think needs to be developed for the Waldorf Homeschooling community.

    I do really like your idea of a botany/craft book, we still do a lot of nature studies here because we are surrounded by so much nature, and there is always so much more to know!

  2. renaissancemama

    This is only my first year doing Waldorf homeschooling so I’m still learning what’s out there. A craft book that incorporated nature study into it sounds like a wonderful idea as I haven’t seen much like that available. I wish you the best of luck. As far as promoting the book, perhaps you could design a little badge/link that people could put on the sidebar of their blog to help get the word out.

  3. domesticallyblissed

    Hi Anthromama
    You might find some cool ideas from the resources at Montessori for Everyone – she makes Montessori resources for homeschooling and has free file downloads – I’ll email you one that I have saved for my later adventures when Munchkin is older. I bet you could do some beautiful Waldorfy stuff. Gypsy

  4. I agree with what Lisa Anne has to say. Although I’m not a home-schooler, I’ve begun to do a lot of reading about the Waldorf understanding of the young adolescent. We’re having a speaker at our school tonight who has been combining Waldorf approaches to Nature with David Orr’s. As summer approaches and we begin to spend more time outdoors, I’m looking for ways to explore nature that are slightly more intellectual, yet remaining artistic and fun.–We’re pretty much beyond fairies 🙂

  5. If there is something out there similar, there is always room for improvement…. and it probably needs “your” view. I certain that doesn’t exist yet.

  6. Thank you everyone for your helpful and kind comments!

    Right now I’m focusing on the native plant flower fairy idea, as I think I could work that one up more quickly. But I have lots of food for thought from you all and research to do on botany for older kids.

  7. There is a beautiful native/edible plant book for children called “Walking the World in Wonder”, it has a full color photo of the plant on one page and on the other it has a description of the plant written in the plants voice “I am mistletoe…” Its very well done. Maybe something for inspiration. There is another book my daughter also has called “Herbalist of Yarrow” Its about a young girls interactions with herbs and elementals that live around them, she learns about all the properties of the plants from these ‘fairies’. The illustrations are terrible, so there is definitely a need for something better. I would most likely buy something like the book you are thinking about, since my daughter is way into herbs and wild edibles (she has never outgrown this)

  8. On another topic (in response to a comment on my blog) have you seen “Berlin Shanghai New York” by Dr. Theodor Friedrichs? It’s written by the grandfather of a co-worker and is about their family’s escape from Germany. I’m only up to the point where they are on a ship en-route to Shanghai, but I’m hooked.

  9. Lisa Anne: Thanks for the tips, I’ll check those out! I’ve spent far too many of my work hours the last few days working up a plan for a series of craft books about native plants flower children/table puppets. Now I just need to figure out how much people might pay for them : )

    Sarah: I haven’t seen that, but I’ll look for that too. I have seen the film Shanghai Ghetto and went to a screening with the director. That one was a documentary about people who lived there as children.

  10. Bex

    No advice for you except…GO FOR IT! Get those itchy fingers writing. There can never be too many resources…Xxx

  11. OT, just wanted to say Muchas Gracias for the fab bunneh picture. We’re putting it up in the office.

    As for HS materials, whew! where to begin? Have you seen the recently released fairy tales to introduce Herbs to kids? I would agree to go for the later years, as there is just way too much for kindy/class one (what year is Botany?). Also, I notice that a lot of e-book suppliers seem to do more work TRYING to sell than they probably profit by in selling. Another tho’t, once you are “published” is contacting Melisa Neilsen, @ alittlegardenflower.com, because she does free webinars for Waldorf hs’ing parents.

    So have you decided that you are going to homeschool the kids? And how is Silly Billy these days.

    All the best!

  12. I came over here from Dawn’s blog in reference to Whitsun. Steiner’s Lectures in “Festivals and Their Meaning” has a beautiful insight into Whitsun and connected me to this festival in a way I never thought of before. In one way he likens it as a Festival of Flowers.
    Ninette Sombart has a beautiful painting of Whitsun, I bought a postcard of it at Sunbridge bookstore. I buy so many postcards when I am there, I would love to have some real prints though (I have one Sombart).
    I was really studying Anthroposophy before I moved here, but I find little time for that kind of reading these days. I think of it as a time when all those ideas I read from Steiner, just need some time to germinate and I am cultivating the fertile soil for them to grow.

  13. Oh that would be a WONDERFUL idea. We would definitely use that in our home schooling.

    Please do!!!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

