Now I’m a Slightly Mollified Blogger/Reader

I just read this on the guardian.co.uk books section feed: Random House will offer online access to up to 5,000 books, AND THEY SPECIFICALLY WANT BLOGGERS TO USE IT: “Random House wants the tool to be picked up by book fans and bloggers who can modify it for their own sites.”

Now there’s a company that accepts the power of blogs. Can you say, “free, minimal overhead advertising”?

I’m waiting to read about the catch, of course. I still find it hard to believe that a huge, mainstream publisher will willingly give books away for free on a large scale. But hey, it’s an improvement.

4 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Books, computers, Rants

4 responses to “Now I’m a Slightly Mollified Blogger/Reader

  1. renaissancemama

    That sounds great. Although I still prefer to curl up on the couch with a good book. My lap top doesn’t feel quite the same.

  2. I don’t like to read on-line… but this is something that may change my habits. Maybe, perhaps, that’s their goal?

  3. There must be a catch! Wonder what the interface will be like?

  4. I read a lot on my computer, either blogging or working. But for fun or escapism reading, it’s always a paper book for me.

    Yes, URD, there is a catch. Random House’s new thing is apparently not meant for actual reading per se, but for searching and accessing individual pages based on keywords or other search parameters. More here.

Leave a Reply

