A Very Unscientific Survey of What I’ve Read

(un)relaxeddad just put this meme on his blog, a list based on the top 106 books most often marked as “unread” by LibraryThing’s users. You are supposed to bold the ones you’ve read (presumably willingly), underline the ones you read for school (presumably unwillingly, not always true in my case), and italicize the ones you started but didn’t finish (now, does that include ones I was supposed to read for school?). Let’s see how I did:

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell (Oh, yes, over and over again!)
Anna Karenina
Crime and Punishment
Catch-22
One Hundred Years of Solitude
Wuthering Heights (Though I did see the Olivier film first.)
The Silmarillion
Life of Pi: A Novel
The Name of the Rose (Can’t actually remember; I might be thinking of the film.)
Don Quixote
Moby Dick
Ulysses
Madame Bovary
The Odyssey (Can’t remember this one either, could be in my brain just via cultural osmosis.)
Pride and Prejudice
Jane Eyre
The [A] Tale of Two Cities
The Brothers Karamazov
Guns, Germs, and Steel (Though I just edited a book that referenced it extensively.)
War and Peace
Vanity Fair (Ugh, that horrible film with Reese Witherspoon! My brain, it is on fire!)
The Time Traveler’s Wife
The Iliad (Again, probably cultural osmosis.)
Emma
The Blind Assassin (For some reason I stopped reading Atwood’s new books after loving The Robber Bride.)
The Kite Runner
Mrs. Dalloway (Does staying awake through The Hours count?
Great Expectations
American Gods
A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius
Atlas Shrugged (I’ve always thought I should think Rand was at least interesting. Not.)
Reading Lolita in Tehran: A Memoir in Books
Memoirs of a Geisha
Middlesex
Quicksilver
Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West
The Canterbury Tales (And I read it in Middle English. Extra credit, no?)
The Historian: A Novel
A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
Love in the Time of Cholera
Brave New World
The Fountainhead (Nope, still not.)
Foucault’s Pendulum (But after reading the Wikipedia article, I’m getting it from the library!)
Middlemarch
Frankenstein
The Count of Monte Cristo
Dracula
A Clockwork Orange
Anansi Boys
The Once and Future King
The Grapes of Wrath
The Poisonwood Bible (I might come back to this one if I like the copy of Prodigal Summer I bought to read on vacation.)
1984
Angels & Demons
Inferno (If you mean Dante’s. And I read it in Italian. More extra credit, no?)
The Satanic Verses (Another author I feel I should really like, but just haven’t. Unlike Rand, I haven’t completely written him off.)
Sense and Sensibility
The Picture of Dorian Gray
Mansfield Park
One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
To the Lighthouse
Tess of the D’Urbervilles
Oliver Twist
Gulliver’s Travels
Les Misérables
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Dune
The Prince
The Sound and the Fury
Angela’s Ashes: A Memoir
The God of Small Things
A People’s History of the United States: 1492-present
Cryptonomicon
Neverwhere
A Confederacy of Dunces
A Short History of Nearly Everything
Dubliners
The Unbearable Lightness of Being (One of my favorites, actually.)
Beloved
Slaughterhouse-five
The Scarlet Letter
Eats, Shoots & Leaves (I should love this; I’m a copy editor. But it was marginally funny the one time only. She needs to get a life.)
The Mists of Avalon (My copy is much dog-eared.)
Oryx and Crake (See The Blind Assassin.)
Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed
Cloud Atlas
The Confusion
Lolita
Persuasion
Northanger Abbey

The Catcher in the Rye
On the Road
The Hunchback of Notre Dame
Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything
Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance : An Inquiry into Values
The Aeneid
Watership Down
Gravity’s Rainbow
The Hobbit (and The Lord of the Rings, of course)
In Cold Blood: A True Account of a Multiple Murder and its Consequences
White Teeth (I came this close to reading this. I’ll keep in in mind.)
Treasure Island
David Copperfield

But then today I came across this list of the fifty “best cult books”. I seem to have more cultish taste:

Slaughterhouse-Five
The Alexandria Quartet
A Rebours
Baby and Child Care (One of these books is not like the others, one of these books just isn’t the same….)
The Beauty Myth
The Bell Jar
Catch-22
The Catcher in the Rye
The Celestine Prophecy
The Dice Man
Chariots of the Gods
A Confederacy of Dunces
Rousseau’s Confessions
The Private Memoirs and Confessions of a Justified Sinner
Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health (Just. too. weird.)
The Doors of Perception
Dune
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test
Fear of Flying
The Female Eunuch
The Fountainhead
Gödel, Escher, Bach: An Eternal Golden Braid
Gravity’s Rainbow
The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail (And years before the whole Da Vinci Code thing.)
I Capture the Castle
(Though after I saw the film, which was quite faithful to it.)
If on a Winter’s Night a Traveler (An all-time favorite, though I usually only get partway through it before getting utterly confused.)
Iron John: A Book about Men
Jonathan Livingston Seagull
(Both on my own and at work: one of those “all of you read this and be more happy and therefore more productive” things.)
The Magus
Labyrinths
The Leopard (Hmmm…I read a lot of Italian literature in college. Think I missed this one.)
The Master and the Margarita
No Logo (Though I always find Adbusters magazine fascinating and inspirational.)
On the Road
Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas
The Outsider
The Prophet
The Ragged Trousered Philanthropists
The Rubáiyát of Omar Khayyám
The Road to Oxiana
Siddharta
The Sorrows of Young Werther
Story of O
The Stranger
The Teachings of Don Juan: A Yaqui Way of Knowledge

Testament of Youth
Thus Spoke Zarathustra
To Kill a Mockingbird
Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance: An Inquiry into Values

6 Comments

Filed under Books, Memes

6 responses to “A Very Unscientific Survey of What I’ve Read

  1. I think we might have similar taste in books from looking at the books you read willingly 🙂 There are so many books that I saw on that list that I really would love to read someday. Les Miserables was probably my favorite book on the list that I noticed you hadn’t read yet.

  2. Dawn: Sometimes I think about reading something “classic” like The Count of Monte Cristo but then I get sucked into something easier (typically, more modern) to read. Except Jane Austen. I’ve had to draw up family trees to keep track of some of her characters, yet I still read them! I notice my list (given what’s here) is heavy on medieval literature and sci-fi/fantasy, with a sprinkling of Romantic and postmodern literature. I guess I need to widen out a bit 🙂

  3. Hey! I think I may well try the list of cultish books once I’ve woken up a bit (you’ll see from my tech blog it’s been a busy day). The Kundera book? I’ve already confessed about the movie on yogamum’s blog. I did get around to the book in due time and it made a big impression on me…

  4. I’m always slightly embarrassed by lists such as this because I tend to think I’m unread in the classics. I’ve read a lot of the books on this list–most for pleasure.

  5. Bex

    This was fun!
    I’m a “Classic / Cult” girl myself.
    I didn’t read anything on either list at school, I went out 0n my own. Weird huh? Xxx

  6. Pingback: A Was Alarmed » Blog Archive » 106 Books

Leave a Reply

