In the Interim…

Did I mention that we are moving 2,200 miles, from New York to Idaho, in three two-and-a-half weeks? AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH!

OK, I feel better now. A little.

On the bright side, we found an apartment to live in for the next six months, and I think we got Napoleona into daycare (at Anthropapa’s work, how convenient) and SillyBilly into kindergarten (at the Lutheran school). Now I just need to figure out how to keep working through the move and August so that we don’t run out of money….

Amid all the craziness, the kids have been painting like mad:

Good thing I decided long ago that painting smocks don’t need to be washed.

And, how cool is this, which we got for pretty much free?

I found a wonderful person online who is sending us a free copy of the instructions, which were missing from the box. Also Anthropapa is going to have to research how to make table clamps and a heddle holder, because evidently the originals were lost and the homemade ones the last owner made don’t seem to make sense.

Even though I made my own peg loom recently, this one is so much cooler! Now all I need is a spinning wheel, and I can just never get any work done at all.

So, I have Symbols: The Three saved in draft and lots of cool images stocked up. But I’m not sure when I’ll be making time to write the post. Please, don’t hold your breath!

8 Comments

Filed under art, Crafting, life, Napoleona, papa, SillyBilly, Writing

8 responses to “In the Interim…

  1. That’s so funny! I bought the same loom for the girls. It is fully intact if you need any more info. Happy weaving and I really hope the move goes well.

  2. Eve

    What? You think we’re all going to let you slack off just because you’re moving thousands of miles away in just two and a half weeks, with two small children?

    Sheesh.

  3. I was born in Idaho, and now live in New York. Strange little world, eh? I’ve been back only once, but it sure it pretty out there. Anything Waldorf-y going on out there? Keep us posted.

  4. Be kind to yourself! I hope it all goes smoothly. Is there an anthroposophical world in Idaho? I look forward to photos. I intend to make a peg loom while on our vacation in a few weeks. We’ll see if we manage it.

  5. 2 1/2 weeks! I was hoping to come to Spring Valley one afternoon and pop by to meet you 😦 I hope you have a good/sane move, Idaho is very beautiful. I grew up in Washington State, so I visited several times.

  6. Good luck with your move and all the potential associated madness. I wish you the most pain-free move possible and hope you get settled soon in your new home.

  7. Thank you, everyone.

    Idaho indeed seems quite beautiful, though we are going to miss rainstorms! There are two Waldorf schools in the state, but neither is anywhere close. But, there are Waldorf homeschoolers, one of which has already been an invaluable source of info and I’m sure will be a great new friend once we get settled. We’ve decided on private Lutheran school as our path right now, with Waldorf always waiting in the wings. Maybe even homeschooling….

  8. Kerryn

    WAH!!! I’ll miss meeting you in September! Good luck with the move though — take care of yourself in the middle of all of the madness.

Leave a Reply

