Abundance

We had a good day. We shared a wonderful meal with friends and family. We have a safe, warm home, and we are all healthy. Much to be thankful for.

In our family, we always hold hands and say or sing grace before meals. The graces are very simple, and the kids always participate. These say it all:

For health and strength
And daily bread
We give our thanks, O Lord.

For flowers and bunnies
And birds that sing,
We thank you, God, for everything!
Amen.

The sun, the moon, the earth, the rain,
And the work of many hands
Have brought us this food,
And we say, Thank you!

Oh, the Lord is good to me,
And so I thank the Lord,
For giving me the things I need,
The sun and the rain and the apple tree,
The Lord is good to me,
Alleluia!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 Comments

Filed under Family, Food, friends, holidays

4 responses to “Abundance

  1. We sometimes sing the “For Health and Strength” verse in a round before eating. Glad you had a nice Thankgsiving!

  2. I am glad you found people nearby to celebrate Thanksgiving, we spent the evening at the UU church: preparing, setting up , cleaning and hanging out and listening to good music, we cleared out our wine rack to share with everyone there, but it just did not feel like Thanksgiving. I appreciate the Unitarian church because you can find many progressive minded people there, but I always find their services so uninspiring and even the blessing was disappointing…no one held hands. Often at home we just hold hands to center ourselves before a meal, it is a wonderful way to bring yourself to the present moment after running around all day and the busyness of preparing a meal. Our new blessing at meal time is (wish I could sing it for you):
    Peace be near you
    Peace be near
    Peace be
    Peace
    Peace
    Peace
    but, I’ve always been a fan of the Johnny Appleseed blessing. There is so much indeed to be grateful for.

  3. I love the Johnny Appleseed blessing, and I loved reading about your Thanksgiving day…glad it was a good one.

  4. Alida

    I love the blessings. I’m glad you had a nice Thanksgiving. Around here we have a lot to be thanksful for too…reading what you write is high on my list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

