Yes, We are Hobbits

We ended up having two, count ’em, two Thanksgiving dinners this weekend.

Turkey #1 was had at Anthropapa’s boss’s house on Thursday. We brought homemade rolls and brussels sprouts, she made everything else. Which was great, as we didn’t have a kitchen full of dirty dishes, and we had a wonderful, convivial meal. Our kids ran around with their kids, we marveled at the wonders of secret gigantic food storage closets* (the house was originally built for a Mormon family), and we had two kinds of pie with ice cream for dessert. Abundance and gratitude, all around.

But, no leftovers. No turkey sandwiches, no turkey curry, nada.

The boss was at Costco today and saw that they had indeed overstocked on turkeys as she thought they had, and were selling them for 49 cents a pound, which was about 1/3 what she paid for her turkey. So, she bought us one and dropped it off for us! And refused to take any money for it.

We love Anthropapa’s boss.

Now, it was a fresh turkey, so I felt compelled to cook it today. Mostly because there was no way at nineteen-pound turkey would fit in our fridge under current conditions. It barely fit into our apartment-sized oven in any case.

Typically, Anthropapa is in charge of the turkey, but he was in Salt Lake City trying to rescue his broken MacBook at the Apple store. So I made turkey #2, all by myself. And made mashed potatoes, mixed vegetables (OK, frozen, but still, it was another pot of food on the range), cranberry sauce, and gravy.**

So we had Second Thanksgiving. And we were very thankful.

❖❖❖❖❖❖

After we ate, we decorated our Gratitude Turkey. I neglected to charge the camera batteries, so you’ll just have to use your imaginations until I decide to post a photo. I made the bird out of construction paper, and made separate tail feathers. As everyone told me something they were thankful for, I wrote each thing on a feather, and taped them on the bird. We’re a little behind on hanging it up since tomorrow is the first Sunday in Advent, but I think we will anyway.

❖❖❖❖❖❖

* That is, gigantic closets for food storage, not closets for storing gigantic food.

** No stuffing. Nana’s is the best, and I only have so many pots/hands/stovetop space.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
12 Comments

Filed under Crafting, Family, Food, friends, holidays, papa

12 responses to “Yes, We are Hobbits

  1. I was kind of hoping to hear about the gigantic food. Ah, the joys of modifiers in English!

    I also went to someone else’s house for Thanksgiving, and although I was sent home with leftovers, they were sort of prepared for me in a form I would not have chosen but to which I could not in good conscience object (it’s just plain wrong to put gravy over the leftovers, but … what could I say?).

    So today I roasted a giant big fat chicken and had quasi-Thanksgiving by myself, and also made a ginormous vat of broth. I am feeling very domestic and smug.

  2. We cooked another turkey last night to have with our neighbors. Our guests ate every scrap of food and I wanted a hot turkey sandwich!

  3. Jerome bought a seventeen pound turkey, but since we had dinner at the church we still have it in our freezer. Just looking for the right moment to cook Thanksgiving again,so we didn’t have any leftover turkey. I made a couple of pumpkin pies to take with us and we had a whole one leftover, which I ate the next day for breakfast, lunch and a smidgen for dessert after dinner, no vitamin A deficiencies here!

  4. We had two turkey dinners as well! Every year, we eat Thanksgiving dinner at my parent’ s house, and it’s wonderful. But I really want some leftovers…those turkey sandwiches are the best! So, my husband made a turkey on Friday.
    Your husband’s boss sounds like a very sweet lady.

  5. David: I immediately saw the dangling modifier when I wrote that sentence, but couldn’t bring myself to change it. Plus I love footnotes. Really. We just made a ginormous pot of broth ourselves tonight, plus I made an apple cranberry crisp. We’re feeling pretty smug, and our fridge is feeling bloated.

    Sarah: We had sandwiches for lunch. I think I like leftover turkey sandwiches (bread, mayo, turkey and salt, only) better than the actual dinner!

    Lisa Anne: I think I may have to make a pumpkin pie, since we have both some cans of puree and a real pumpkin left over from Halloween. This time I might even make my own crust, as I have gotten over my trepidation of doughs.

    Dawn: She is!

    Anthropapa: You always lurk, and when you don’t, you burp on my blog? Tacky!

  6. Eve

    This sounded good, except for brussels sprouts. I fail to see the conviviality about those.

  7. Eve: Have you seen how brussels sprouts grow? They are quite convivial amongst themselves. 🙂

  8. Eve

    Heni! ROFLMAO!!! I can’t believe you posted actual photos of brussels sprouts growing. And, no, I had never seen them growing. Which, now that I think about it, is quite extraordinary, for I grew up around people (including my mother) who had huge gardens.

    I wonder… maybe I have repressed memories of brussels sprouts abuse that I haven’t dealt with!

    Good heavens…. just look at those.

    For some reason they look kind of alienesque, don’t they? But I have to admit they do appear convivial.

    Educate me here, because I also read on another blog of someone serving brussels sprouts for Thanksgiving. Is this a regional tradition or cultural tradition somewhere? I mean, who really eats them? I bought some a few months ago and tried them again and just hated them. I mean, I bought *fresh* ones, thinking that perhaps I had never been served good, fresh, properly cooked brussels sprouts.

    No, that wasn’t it. I just don’t like them. They appear to be sinister little representations of miniature cabbages, posers, as it were, among vegatables.

    I don’t go for that. I only go for the real deal. I only go for transparency and realness, and—

    Ooops, sorry. For a second there I thought I was on my own blog. ;o)

    Love ya, and thanks for those photos. They did make me laugh. Hard.

  9. Eve

    P.S. OK, the sprouts weren’t growing still in the photo. They had grown but they were still on the stalk. Or vine. Or whatever that thing is.

    No, I don’t grow vegetables. Only flowers, trees, shrubs, and herbs.

    And sometimes tomatoes.

  10. Eve: Brussels sprouts abuse? Now that’s funny. One way to abuse the sprouts is to overcook them. I find they’re kind of fussy: too little cooking and they don’t digest well (being little cabbages, after all) but overcooked they are sulfurous and soggy. I’m not aware of them being a tradition for Thanksgiving…we just like them and Anthropapa saw the stalks for sale at the store.

    I know–you could grow ornamental veggies like kale in your pesky beds in front of your house!

  11. Nana

    brussel sprouts, broccoli, lima beans, cauliflower or any other veg which is highly nutricious but may assault the taste buds are all truly wondrous when smothered in melted cheese and there are so many great cheeses out there!

Leave a Reply

