I Am So Grateful…

…that Anthropapa and I have jobs.

…that we have health insurance and are all healthy ourselves.

…that we have a safe, comfortable place to live.

…that we can afford to send our kids to private school.

There is so much economic turmoil happening right now, and families are making hard choices every day. We might have our own financial worries, but they are small compared to some. And of course, compared to many people across the world, we are positively wealthy.

Lots to be grateful for.

10 Comments

Filed under Family, life

10 responses to “I Am So Grateful…

  1. Alida

    My nineteen year old thinks that the economy is not THAT bad, that it’s all in people’s head because they hear so much doom and gloom from the media. Did I mention he is nineteen?

    I told him that I didn’t agree but that I was grateful that his dad and I are provide so well for all our kids that they all feel secure during times like these.

  2. Yes, times are tough for so many people right now. It’s pretty scary to think about. It’s a good thing to stop and reflect upon all we have to be thankful for.

  3. Let’s hear it for gratitude! I have so much to be thankful for, as well.

  4. Tammy

    Oh, I just LOVE this post on gratitude. Thank you so much for reminding us of what we have. We really are lucky people compared to so many.

  5. Oh yes, I know! I think about this every day. So much to be thankful for, indeed.

  6. Those are great blessings. It’s a funny thing, though … when you have something to lose, it’s more frightening when things start to go bad. It’s difficult to stay in that place of gratitude, rather than moving to fear of impending loss.

  7. Nana

    I thank God every day for the many blessings He bestows upon us, for watching over my husband (who is very ill at present) for watching over my family in Pocatello, and for giving me strength.

    It is easy to be grateful during the good times. The test of a person’s character is to remain thankful during the rough patches.

  8. Good post. I teach World Politics, which means vivid descriptions of conditions in Africa, the Rwandan genocide, and various problems across the planet. Even with the economic downturn we live in material excess. Yet we don’t seem to enjoy it much (at least for many people — anxiety, stress, and competition continue), while I have had students from third world countries say that people have more fun and social interaction where they come from. And here when you do lose your job or house, many have to rely on government or themselves. In places with more poverty, people learn to work together and support each other. Perspective always helps.

  9. Joy

    I have been thinking this same thing nearly every day for months now. It’s too bad that it take suffering an economic depression to make us as grateful as we should be all the time!

  10. Alida: Nineteen? Rational brain functions still not fully developed! 🙂

    Dawn: The trick is to not let fear take over, eh?

    Lisa: You are a gratitude cheerleader 🙂

    Tammy: Since you have four kids, you have even more to be grateful for than I. And what is more important than them?

    Denise: I’m sure you’ll be even more grateful when you can start planting!

    David: Yes, there’s that fear thing again. I’m hoping our culture can get away from fear mongering to hopeful rationality.

    Nana: Yes, that’s the big test. It’s so easy to get resentful and fearful, instead of seeing clearly. Reminds me of Jesus seeing the beautiful white teeth of the dead dog in the road. Not blind optimism, but really seeing what is there and appreciating it.

    Scott: We have indeed made some big trade-offs for our independence and material wealth. We might have a nice house, car, etc. but that won’t succor us in our time of need the way family and friends would.

    Joy: Welcome and thanks for your comment. As the song says, “You don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone”. A lot of people seem to be realigning their values to be less materialistic, which is wonderful. I’m grateful for the material world and its manifold blessings, but that’s not all there is in life!

Leave a Reply

