Time Keeps on Slipping, Slipping, Slipping…

This weekend my watch battery died. At first I was really disconcerted — I’m not exactly obsessed with knowing the time, but as a mom I find it a little easier to handle our daily rhythms if I know where we are in the day.

There have been times in my life where I didn’t have to wear a watch, but right now I am beholden to picking up and dropping off, waking and bedtimes. Our wall clock died an ignominious death on our cross-country move, and we haven’t gotten around to replacing it yet.

I discovered my watch was dead when Anthropapa brought SillyBilly home from the Pi/Einstein Day event and the grocery store. Papa mentioned that he thought I’d have dinner ready by then, as it was 6:30 and we usually start getting the kids ready for bed at 7. I was shocked — wasn’t it just 5:15?

The next morning Napoleona and I went to church. How would I know what time it was when the service was over? Um…why does that matter? Why can I not wait the 2 minutes before I can start up the car and check the time there? Hmmmm…maybe I am a bit obsessed.

Overall this weekend had a nice quality, even though both kids weren’t feeling that great and took whining to a new level. Time slipped by so easily! The kids made little bark and stick houses for their wooden squirrels, painted, drew maps, and helped set the table and make my bed. I did a few minutes of proofreading here and there, we listened to some fairy tales and silly stories on podcasts, and I finally started work on my native plant flower fairies (woo hoo!).

The pièce de résistance? This afternoon we all took a three-hour nap. Aaaaaahhhh.

Maybe I won’t get that watch battery replaced just yet.

16 Comments

Filed under Family, life, Napoleona, papa, play, SillyBilly

16 responses to “Time Keeps on Slipping, Slipping, Slipping…

  1. Mon

    3hr nap!? *siiiiiigh*

    Good to hear that SB was well enough to attend Pi day.

    I love not knowing what time it is. We need to know sometimes, which is why it’s around the house when we need it. But I found, a looooong time ago, that time on your wrist created a habit of needing it.

  2. Ahhhhhhhhhh! A three-hour nap?! Ahhhhhhhhh! I’m so jealous! I tend to be allergic to the materials watches are made from so I often leave mine off when I get eczema patches. But I’m so nervy I always know what the time is instinctively. Maybe it comes from teaching for all those years… Kiko, on the other hand, never wears a watch but seems to be programmed instinctively to believe that the middle of the night is getting-up time, urgggghhhhhh!

  3. As with the others, I’m envious of your three hour nap. But you’re right — time slips by. Things to do, kids to take care of and find events for, chores…and suddenly another day is over and then another month, another year….sometimes I think we need to grasp the present, the “now” and really appreciate it. Because despite the quick passage of time, now lasts forever. (You get the kids ready for bed by 7:00? We’re lucky to have ours tucked in by 8:00, and then it’s stories, and ‘will you lay with me’ and other things until they finally nod off usually sometime after 8:30…)

  4. Sounds just about right.

  5. I need to loosen up a bit with keeping track of time. Your weekend sounds pretty great. My kids were both whiny this weekend as well.

  6. Alida

    The time change really throws our schedule out of wack. I haven’t worn a watch in a couple of years, but I do keep track of time usually. Dinner however, gets started when it gets dark. Needless to say we’ve been eating very late. During the summer the kids don’t get to bed until 9:30 p.m. In the winter, sometimes they are in bed by 7:00 p.m.

    I like shifting our patterns according to the seasons. Also culturally we tend towards a more european schedule. Naps after lunch and late dinners. My kids don’t usually take naps except in the summer. They get up early, spend the day playing outside or in a pool, a nap is welcomed by all. Oooh I can’t wait!

  7. Mon: Given what you and Wildflower have been achieving together, you’ll get to long naps any day now!

    Helen: You need a lovely pocket watch 🙂

    Scott: The 7 pm bedtime is a popular “Waldorf lifestyle” thing. It’s really beneficial for the little ones especially. It does take some fortitude on the parents’ part to get dinner earlier, not let “one more story” go on too long, etc. So we start getting ready for bed no later than 7 pm and shoot for lights out at 7:30.

    Lisa Anne: It was lovely.

    Dawn: Must be the change of season making the kids irritated.

    Alida: I dislike daylight savings time, but I don’t think I could do eating and sleeping according to the sun, unless we weren’t on school and work schedules. This will be the first summer after a school year for my son, so I have no idea what kind of schedule we’ll be on.

  8. I am watchless and have been for years. I have gotten very good at “reading” the time from the sun. The reason I wear no watch is because it just isn’t cost effective. They stop very quickly when they live on my wrist, so quickly my husband will not allow me to wear his watches. Don’t ask me why, I don’t know. I just know they stop PDQ.

  9. David

    A day free of the tyranny of the clock sounds like a very nice thing, even for someone like me, whose life is largely unscheduled.

  10. Woo hoo. Good for you. I gave up wearing a watch when I gave up watching news. I can still look at the oven or something when I need to know. The car has a clock of course too. But I have to get to it and LOOK, either way. I find that I almost always know what time it is anyway. Never late. 😉

  11. HMH: You’re just too magnetic 🙂

    David: Funny how sometimes it’s tyranny and other times it’s a comforting rhythm.

    Denise: I was almost late picking up SillyBilly from school today….maybe if we had a clock in the living room, I could get away with no watch!

  12. I’ve never liked the way watches look or feel. I NEVER wear one, much to my husband’s chagrin. He is constantly hounding me to get a watch to better deal with my ADD. A few years ago, I found the PERFECT watch. But of course it cost a trillion bucks and I have never seen any other like it. Reading your post, I’m thinking I’m just going to have to MAKE one like it and get on the ball with the whole “timeliness” thing!
    Glad you had a full weekend!

  13. Tammy

    Pi day…wasn’t that last Friday? I didn’t see a specific day in your post as to when it was, but I think Emily told me it was Friday. She heard some place here in town they were serving “pie” to celebrate Pi day. lol!

  14. Eicart

    Like HMH, watch batteries don’t last very long on me. When the battery in the last living watch died, I officially gave up on wristwatches. If I absolutely must know the time, first I guess, then I refer to the cell phone’s display. Time really does go by faster when you aren’t paying attention to it.

  15. I learned to tell time at 4 — in Kindergarten I was the only kid with a watch, and one of three who did not yet know how to tie my shoes. So I am so used to a watch that I feel naked without it (and none of the digital stuff — that requires too much thinking). Yet I am also pretty good at guessing the passage of time, and play a game of it sometimes. At least now I don’t lose my watches every few months, like I did as a kid (and I’m still a loyal Timex customer — like my first watch).

  16. Have to admit, if I could get my family to take a three hour nap, I probably wouldn’t spend the time sleeping myself!

Leave a Reply

