Pre-hiatus Update

Dear Bloggy Friends,

I must pause. Not to reflect, but to get everything else done.

We plan to close on our house on Sept. 8. Of course this has meant numerous phone calls, meetings, and appointments. We’ve got a lot of financial wrangling yet to do — buying appliances, applying for our government’s wonderful offer of $8,000, and much more. And at some point I need to start packing.

I’m registered for History 101, and have made myself known to much of the history faculty. In doing so, I got myself signed up to do a Public History internship, in which I will help research and fact check on an upcoming book celebrating the anniversary of the Idaho Museum of Natural History here on campus. In the future I might also assist with the scholarly journals the department produces. I saw the gleam in a few professors’ eyes when they heard I was an editor of scholarly humanities books, so that might be a source of future paying work, as well. And at some point before December I need to take the GRE and figure out who can write references for my grad school application.

The kids start school tomorrow. In trying to balance my work, my classes, and their needs, I’ve signed Napoleona up for after-care three days a week, so that I have the entire day free for work and my courses. But the other two days, I’ll be taking Anthropapa to work at 8:00, the kids to school at 8:30, returning to pick up Napoleona at 11:15, returning to pick up SillyBilly at 3:00, and picking up Anthropapa at 5:00. Clearly, we need a second car. And at some point I need to figure out when I can volunteer in the kids’ classrooms.

I’m plugging away on my current manuscript, an examination of the role of emotions in US history. Then I’ve got 2 or 3 more to do next month. The next few months will be a huge test to see who I can balance maintaining my work load along with going to school. And at some point I need to find some new clients.

I’m also volunteering as the Chapter Development Coordinator for the EFA. It’s not too onerous, but some days it seems to take up more than a few hours of otherwise precious time. I like contributing to the organization that has provided me with so many benefits, but right now it’s yet another thing in the mix. And at some point I need to write up all the policies and procedures that go with the job.

So, my friends. I can’t keep up. I can’t even get to read all of your wonderful blogs, no less comment thoughtfully. No less write my own blog posts. So I’m officially going on hiatus, until such time as I have enough time and energy to share. Retaining the right, of course, to pop up at any time randomly.

Love,

Anthromama

18 Comments

Filed under editing, Family, freelancing, life, Napoleona, papa, School, SillyBilly

18 responses to “Pre-hiatus Update

  1. Good luck with all of your new challenges. I’ll be rooting for you!

  2. Good Luck with it all! I am wondering if I will start my blog up again as well…so much happening! It was nice getting to know you on-line, you can always friend me on facebook (not that that is a total time sink or anything) -LisaAnneSchmidt:)I am so happy about all the new things happening in your life, especially the house. Love to you all!

  3. Wow, you have a lot going right now…good idea to take some time off from blogging! I know I’ll check in periodically to see if you are back in the blogging world. Til I “see” you again, enjoy every moment of these opportunities ahead of you!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. Never let blogging or reading blogs become a chore. Life comes first! I look forward to hearing how the history class goes. Oh, and emotion in US history? That sounds intriguing.

  5. Looking forward to your triumphant return!!! Good luck … will miss your intelligent and thought provoking contributions!

  6. Times like this are what Twitter is for. Seriously, I understand, but I’ll miss you. I’ve done the same, but never been organized enough to announce it.

  7. Good luck with everything, and looking forward to the random pop-ups.

  8. Lisa Zahn

    Good luck with all! I hope to see you on FB once in a while, at least!

  9. Eve

    You certainly need a break with all you have going on! I hope you check in as you can and that we see you soon.

  10. Nana

    please remember Nana’s Rule #1: You cannot do it all! Sounds like you have your priorities straight and once you have your new house in order, you will once again be able to breathe! of course, with fewer blog entries to keep me posted, i will require more frequent phone calls from my Pookie and my brilliant, beautiful grandchildren. Napoleona needs ballet lessons after the momentous move…

  11. My goodness, you have got yourself busy. don’t forget to take time to breathe deeply once in a while (Preferably not in preparation for screaming). You will love having your own house, especially AFTER you have finished moving. . .

    Blessed be and may your new home hold health and happiness always.

  12. Alida

    You shall be missed! It all sounds so exciting. I’m wishing you the best.

  13. Busy, busy! That’s a huge load, but sounds quite rich as well! Your new manuscript sounds intriguing! Keep us posted!
    I’ll keep checking back to see what’s new. I’ve really enjoyed , and have benefited from your amazing “voice”. And thanks for your advice on my latest post! I know you were going through a similar dilemma at one point. Take care and be well!

  14. We will love you whenever and wherever we see you. Sounds like a lot of wonderful stuff is happening for you right now. I envy you that editing project. *sigh*

  15. Wow! Big changes for you guys too (I didn’t mention that had I got that job we would have been transplanted 400 miles). New house – it’s a big step but a very satisfying one. Know what you mean about time management, but nothing you can’t handle (the last few years of reading your blog provides ample evidence of that). Do send out the occasional tweet 🙂

  16. Nice post. I be taught one thing more challenging on different blogs everyday. It is going to all the time be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a bit of one thing from their store. I’d desire to use some with the content material on my weblog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your internet blog. Thanks for sharing.

  17. Your internet site came up in my research and Im prompted by what you have composed on this theme. I am currently branching out my enquiry and thus cannot contribute further, however, Ive bookmarked your site and will be returning to keep up with any future updates. Just love it and thanks for allowing my remark.

Leave a Reply

