Weekend Update

Well, we had such a full weekend that I am compelled by tiredness to just give you all a few snippets until I can get back to my regular programming.

  • I took the kids to Rhode Island over the weekend to celebrate an old college friend’s birthday. I let the kids watch way too much TV, we had absolutely no naps, but really it could have been much worse 🙂 On the bright side, we had awesome barbecue and my friend’s SCA friends did some impromptu English country dancing on the back deck. They’re all going to war at Pennsic soon, and I’m a bit jealous.
  • On the other hand, I’m exhausted from staying up far too late every day, having my first drink in too many years to count (a tiny margarita) and driving four hours each way. And coming home today, a redtail hawk struck our car as we were driving down the highway. The bird hit the car like a brick as it tried to fly across the highway too low, and was definitely killed. It also broke our side mirror. Very traumatic.
  • Dr. Nokes over at Unlocked Wordhoard was so kind as to accept my offer to be his fangirl. I love his blog! He writes about “all things medieval” and recently posted about how he thinks “applied medievalism” (read: the SCA, Renaissance faires, films [Beowulf] etc.) in modern culture doesn’t necessarily detract from scholarly work in the area, and in fact there is a “hunger out there for smart-but-accessible writing about the medieval.” Recent posts include a discussion of which female medieval figures drew women to interest in medievalism, an inquiry into possible sources for the tale of a massacre of cats during the Black Plague–sparked by an episode of Babylon 5, and a discussion of why the term medieval Catholics is just plain wrong.
  • Speaking of medievalism, we have listened to Richard Thompson’s 1000 Years of Popular Music enough times in the car that the kids can sing along passably well with “Sumer is Icumen In” and “King Henry“. They also try to do “So Ben Mi C’ha Bon Tempo“, but the sixteenth-century Italian stumps them.
  • We might be moving to a location without a Waldorf school. We’re wrestling with the likelihood that homeschooling wouldn’t work for us, and putting the kids in a Lutheran school. Arrrgh. We’ve had it easy up until now, always being in anthro land.
  • SillyBilly will be getting his hearing aids in a few weeks. More on that as things develop.

I hope all my American readers had a good Fourth of July, and as for you furriners…well, let’s just all enjoy our independence in all of its forms!

8 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Family, Food, friends, Hearing loss, holidays, Parenting, Silliness and Mayhem, SillyBilly

8 responses to “Weekend Update

  1. Well…you’ve got my interest peaked in medieval studies just by clicking on the links you provided. Did you study this in college?

  2. Glad to hear you had a good 4th, and fun with friends. Isn’t it funny how kids aren’t intimidated by strange words and languages – especially when set to music. We have a CD of Italian pop songs for children, and my lot know it off by heart. Me, couldn’t sing a word of it.

  3. I tried including your post in my Miscellany today, but I couldn’t get the “1000 Years” link to open. I assume if I get it to open, I’ll be able to hear the tunes, or is it just printed lyrics?

    Also, welcome as my first fangirl. As soon as you’ve gathered others, I’ll be on the lookout for that psychedelic Volkswagen you’ll be traveling around in.

  4. Dawn, I did study some medieval literature in college (The Canterbury Tales, The Pearl, Piers Plowman, etc.) and as you know I was active in the SCA at that time. It’s always been an interest of mine.

    Charlotte: The sad thing is that I tried to translate the song from hearing it using my college Italian, and then discovered I was completely wrong when I looked up the lyrics! I blame Thompson’s English accent 🙂

    Dr. Nokes: Thanks, I fixed the link. I will be starting up your fan club soon 🙂

  5. Oh, that is so horrible about the hawk….won’t tell the huz cuz he’ll cry.
    Glad you had a full/crazy weekend! What a booze hound.
    Wow! A prof of Medieval stuff and he’s funny! I’m with DAwn.
    Does The Mists Of Avalon fall under medieval stuff?
    Yikes about no waldorf!!! No!

  6. Yup, *The Mists of Avalon* falls under the general category of “popular medievalism,” stuff that is medieval-themed in the modern world.

    We talk about popular medievalism all the time at the Wordhoard, so come on over and join us. Maybe you can join our Anthromama in the “Psychedelic Medieval Machine!”

  7. I’m in the same situation as you with deciding on schooling options. Waldorf is too expensive and does not offer busing to our town… I would have to work like a loon and be stressed when the girls returned home. Homeschooling appeals to me but leaves little room for my work with the children and writing… still trying to work it all out… we were going with parochial school but it just doesnt feel right for ‘us’… so public may be our best option… we are lucky to have a safe, small public school system with many dedicated teachers but of course, it is not ideal.

    My thoughts are with you all as you find your path! Sounds like you had a wonderful Independence Day weekend!!!
    xoxo
    eileen

  8. Thanks for the update. It is a hard to know what is always the right place for our children, I am sure they will be fine wherever they go. Children are so adaptable. I think most of our worries about our children are a projection of the inadequacies of our own upbringing and/or education. My lesson has always been: my issues are not necessarily Amelia’s. So she may be completely fine to go to the local PS, but she totally picks up my apprehension about it.
    She is becoming a little radical these days, so I am thinking she might not be well received in this so very conservative area…..who knows?

Leave a Reply

