I Feel So…American

Tonight was an all-American double play: baseball, and ice cream. (Yes, I know, baseball is huge in Japan and Italians and Germans eat lots of ice cream. Please play along.)

We found out yesterday that the middle grades’ baseball team at our neighborhood Waldorf school was playing in the semifinal game of the season. And the son of our daycare provider is on the team. Much begging and conniving ensued, and I ended up taking my kids and another boy from daycare to last night’s game. Not too difficult, since the ball field is about 500 yards from our house.

Our guys won yesterday, so tonight was the final. The sun was out, the grass was green, there was even a hint of a breeze to blow away some of the humidity.

Now, the players are in sixth to eighth grade, so there were boys who looked practically like young men with their wide shoulders and fast pitches. And there were the younger and smaller ones, who were still unsure where to throw the ball sometimes.

While the game was going on, SillyBilly and I were playing catch with a soft, stuffed plastic ball. He had also brought a little plastic bat. Both of which caught the eye of a group of young boys. So SillyBilly ended up inside the batting cage next to the playing field with a pack of other boys, playing “baseball”. It was pretty funny, the batting cage being about 5 feet wide and 30 feet long. My boy is destined for the pitcher’s mound, methinks. He’s got quite an accurate arm.

Meanwhile Napoleona was her charming best, running around showing everyone her cast (“No, I didn’t break my arm, I fractured it.”) and the caterpillar she found. When we left, dozens of people I don’t know said goodbye to her by name. The girl is not shy.

The game was quite evenly matched, and the final score was 1-0, with our boys winning. And I tell you, the drama! That one point was a slider to home plate.

When we got home, SillyBilly helped me make homemade coleslaw to go along with the crock pot chicken and leftover rice for dinner. Then after dinner, Anthropapa said, “Should we go to the…you know…that place down the road on the corner?” Wink, wink, nudge, nudge….

You see, we have to speak in code. And our codes are necessarily getting more complex all the time. Soon we’ll have to learn Swahili to speak of secret or undecided things in front of the kids.

We did go to the place. The Dairy Queen place. We ate way too much ice cream.

Life was good today.

Zemanta Pixie
7 Comments

Filed under Family, Food, life, Napoleona, play, Silliness and Mayhem, SillyBilly

7 responses to “I Feel So…American

  1. I’m glad to hear that her cast didn’t keep Napoleona from eating ice cream. We’ll have to get Silly Billy and 3B together to play baseball sometime, although 3B’s arm isn’t quite as good as SB’s.

  2. Sounds like a great day, and that your kids had fun. My equivalent South African day would be watching kids play cricket and then having a braai (barbeque). Clearly, I am going to have to go and live in Australia.

  3. Oh that sounds like so much all American fun! I have never seen baseball live but I just imagine sitting in the ‘bleachers’ (is that what you call them – we call then ‘stands’) and eating a bit ol’ hotdog and root beer. Not that I’ve ever had root beer but I’m just convinced I’d like it.

  4. All you needed was some hotdogs. Sounds like a lot of fun. I love the photo in your header. Is it new or am I just unobservant?

  5. But the birches in the header look very Scandinavian.
    Margaretha

  6. Papa B: Perish the thought! The cast conveniently prevents her from helping around the house, but not consuming sweets.

    Charlotte: Barbecue would have been nice, too.

    Gypsy: We call them bleachers or stands. I’m somehow shocked that you’ve never had root beer. It’s quite good, especially with a scoop of vanilla ice cream 🙂

    Sarah: It is indeed new!

    Margaretha: Welcome! The trees do look quite Scandinavian. My spring image was by Mr. Van Gogh, but this one is a detail of a painting by someone by the name of Arkhip Ivanovich Kuindzhi (lots of variant spellings out there) who was born in what is now Ukraine.

  7. I love Napoleona’s “it’s not broken, it’s fractured” remark. That sounds like such a fun family time you all had together.

Leave a Reply

